Northern Arizona Suns Set 2018-19 Opening Night Roster

By Jacob Withee | November 1, 2018

PRESCOTT VALLEY, Ariz. – The Northern Arizona Suns announced today they have set their roster for the start of their 2018-19 regular season.

The NAZ Suns have 11 players ready to go for their season opener against the Santa Cruz Warriors on Saturday, Nov. 3, at 7 p.m. The 2018-19 team consists of four returning players, three players the team selected in the 2018 NBA G League Draft, two players the team acquired via trade, one Two-Way player, and one local tryout player.

Derek Cooke Jr., Tyrell Corbin, Peter Jok, and Eric Stuteville have all made their way back to the Northern Arizona Suns for a second season. Corbin, Jok and Stuteville were all with the NAZ Suns last season, while Cooke played in the team’s inaugural season in 2016-17. Cooke was one of three players to play in all 50 NAZ Suns games that first year, as he averaged 7.5 points on 55.7 percent shooting and 7.6 rebounds per game. Corbin initially joined the team last February and saw action in nine games. Jok, a former Phoenix Suns forward/guard and former Big Ten Conference scoring champion at Iowa, returns after posting 4.9 points on 37.9 percent shooting from distance and 2.2 rebounds in 27 games last year. Stuteville was drafted No. 1 overall by the NAZ Suns in 2017 out of Sacramento State. The center posted 5.0 points and 2.4 rebounds per game in 43 contests in his rookie year.

Aaron Epps, A.J. Mosby and LaQuinton Ross all made the team after being selected by the Suns in this year’s draft. Epps is coming off a strong four-year career at Louisiana State, while Mosby is coming off a standout two-year stint at Alcorn State. Ross is a former Ohio State Buckeye who has played professionally in the NBA G League and overseas the past five years.

Daniel Dixon and Daxter Miles Jr. joined the Suns via trade over the last month. Dixon played the most minutes on the Maine Red Claws last season, his first year in the NBA G League, as he averaged 13.3 points, 4.7 rebounds and 2.7 assists in 33.3 minutes per game (46 games, 25 starts). Miles was selected 11th overall by the Iowa Wolves before being dealt to the Suns in a draft-day trade. He played the last four years collegiately at West Virginia.

George King is the lone Two-Way player on the NAZ Suns’ roster who is under contract with the Phoenix Suns. Coming off a strong collegiate career at Colorado, King was selected by Phoenix with the 59th overall pick (second round) in the 2018 NBA Draft. He played in two preseason games with the Phoenix Suns earlier this year.

Retin Obasohan is the only local tryout player who made the Suns’ opening night roster. A former co-captain for Alabama, Obasohan played professionally in Germany last year.

The complete NAZ Suns roster is below:

Derek Cooke Jr. F 6-9 220 8/23/91 Wyoming/USA Returning
Tyrell Corbin G 6-1 185 9/21/92 Cal State Bakersfield/USA Returning
Daniel Dixon G 6-6 210 2/13/94 William & Mary/USA Trade
Aaron Epps F 6-10 214 4/28/96 Louisiana State/USA Drafted
Peter Jok F/G 6-6 205 3/30/94 Iowa/South Sudan Returning
George King F 6-6 220 1/15/94 Colorado/USA Two-Way
Daxter Miles Jr. G 6-3 200 1/5/95 West Virginia/USA Trade
A.J. Mosby G 6-3 160 4/8/96 Alcorn State/USA Drafted
Retin Obasohan G 6-3 220 7/6/93 Alabama/Belgium Local Tryout
LaQuinton Ross F 6-8 220 11/18/91 Ohio State/USA Drafted
Eric Stuteville C 6-11 250 2/6/95 Sacramento State/USA Returning

To finalize the 11-man roster, the NAZ Suns waived three players.

Tidjan Keita, a returning player from last season, did not make the 2018-19 team. He was an affiliate player in 2017-18 after a short stint with the Phoenix Suns. The forward did not appear in a game with the NAZ Suns.

Wayne McCullough and Shaquille Thomas were waived as well. McCullough, formerly of Colorado Christian, was one of four local tryout players invited to training camp. Thomas was originally acquired by the Suns in an offseason trade with the Memphis Hustle.

The Northern Arizona Suns begin their third season in the NBA G League on Nov. 3 against the Santa Cruz Warriors at the Prescott Valley Event Center. Single-game tickets start at just $10 apiece, with plenty of other discounted pricing options, including the team’s 4 on the Floor package, Flex Plan, Group Experience packages, or season ticket memberships. More information about all of the NAZ Suns ticket options can be found at www.nazsuns.com/tickets, emailing sales@nazsuns.com, or calling 928-772-SUNS.