NAZ Suns Set 2019-20 Opening Night Roster

By Jacob Withee | November 7, 2019

PRESCOTT VALLEY, Ariz. – The Northern Arizona Suns have announced their roster to start their 2019-20 regular season campaign, their fourth season in the NBA G League.

The NAZ Suns have 12 players slated for Sparklight Opening Night on Saturday, Nov. 9, at 5 p.m. at the Findlay Toyota Center against the Agua Caliente Clippers. Ten players are solely Northern Arizona Suns, including four returning players, three affiliate players, two players selected in the 2019 NBA G League Draft, and one local tryout. Jalen Lecque, a Phoenix Suns assignee, and Jared Harper, a Phoenix Suns Two-Way player, are scheduled to play for the NAZ Suns on Saturday, as well.

Aaron Epps, ShawnDre Jones, Daxter Miles Jr. and Trayvon Palmer will begin their second season with the NAZ Suns. They combined for 146 games played last season for Northern Arizona, including 49 apiece by Epps and Miles.

David Krämer, Norense Odiase, and Tariq Owens were all part of Phoenix’s training camp and have made the NAZ Suns roster as affiliate players. Krämer played the last four years professionally in Germany. Odiase and Owens both helped lead Texas Tech to the NCAA national championship game last year.

The first overall pick Anthony Lawrence II and 15th overall pick Keljin Blevins will suit up on Saturday. Lawrence played the last four years collegiately at Miami, Florida, while Blevins is coming off a two-year stint at Montana State. Stephen Ugochukwu made the roster as a local tryout. He played one game for the Texas Legends last season after a four-year collegiate run at McNeese State.

The full 10-man Northern Arizona Suns roster is below. Phoenix Suns’ Harper and Lecque are also scheduled to be with the team on Saturday.


Keljin Blevins G 6-6 200 11/24/95 Montana State/USA Drafted
Aaron Epps F 6-10 225 4/28/96 Louisiana State/USA Returning
ShawnDre Jones G 6-0 170 11/18/94 Richmond/USA Returning
David Krämer G 6-3 185 1/14/97 Slovakia Affiliate
Anthony Lawrence II F 6-7 210 9/6/96 Miami (FL)/USA Drafted
Daxter Miles Jr. G 6-3 200 1/5/95 West Virginia/USA Returning
Norense Odiase C 6-8 250 9/14/95 Texas Tech/USA Affiliate
Tariq Owens F 6-10 205 6/30/95 Texas Tech/USA Affiliate
Trayvon Palmer G/F 6-6 200 11/13/94 Chicago State/USA Returning
Stephen Ugochukwu F 6-7 220 3/22/96 McNeese State/USA Local Tryout


To finalize their Opening Night roster, the NAZ Suns waived guards Brandon Alston, James Daniel III, Jaron Hopkins and Miles Reynolds.

Related articles